pocketbistro_logo

Reviews

Great food!


It's now called 'Pocket Bistro'. A beautiful little place to eat. Great, professional and attentive staff. The roasts are too notch! The quality of the beef and turkey is high, and the price is very reasonable. I highly recommend visiting ... I shall be again, soon!

Terry R (October 4, 2015)


Marvelous!


Four of us went to this restaurant early evening after attending a race meeting at Newmarket . We all had starters and main courses which were all superb . The people of Newmarket and the surrounding area are very lucky to have a restaurant like this . It is quite small , probably only nine or ten tables , so probably worth booking . When we left all tables were full . Staff very friendly and attentive . 
Can't wait to go back next time we are in the area.

Riversboy (October 1, 2015)


Wonderful little Bistro


Visited over Newmarket open weekend after reading the excellent reviews. Pre booked Friday night and had such a fab meal returned for the Saturday too. Food was exquisite both nights. Service is excellent, attentive without being obtrusive, staff very obliging and friendly. Look forward to returning next year. Thank you All!

Jacqui S (September 26, 2015)


Amazing!!


Amazing restaurant, amazing food, amazing service, amazing atmosphere. nothing else to add, highly recommended for everyone 🍴

AdriannaO (September 21, 2015)


Stylish setting and amazing food!


Probably my favourite restaurant around the area, breakfast is to die for, lunch & dinner is also very nice!! Service is super, really quick and staff are really friendly. Really modernised setting, overall I love this restaurant one of my favourites to date!

Meganhindd (September 17, 2015)


Excellent dining experience


Went this restaurant on aTuesday evening at short notice, had an excellent meal and staff were very freindly and helpful. Place is spotlessly clean and resonably priced. Food is presented beautifully. Please note the Restaurant has changed its name and is now called The Pocket Bistro.

Michael P (August 27, 2015)


Absolutely brilliant


Superlatives do not do this exquisite and hidden little gem real justice. Everything about it works perfectly.
The menu is small, appealing and varied, the restaurant has an understated modest charm about it and the service is pleasant without being cloying, is efficient but not brusque and attentive without being fussy. Where do they find such staff? 
 
A selection of hors d'oeuvres precede the food and accompany pre-dinner drinks; these are wonderfully appetising. I was with two other people and we were all delighted with our choices. I had Asian crispy spiced duck as an entree.
For my main course I had fillet of venison prepared with care and artistry followed by a generous selection of cheeses.
For her main course, my sister ordered crab risotto with baked halibut. All three of us were delighted with the service, food and ambience and feel that a small town such as Newmarket is fortunate to have such an uncompromisingly fine place to enjoy good company with fine food and wine.
 

Williams 348 (January 7, 2014)


Christmas Day !


This was the very best way to spend the big day - cool, calm service , lovely ambient festive atmosphere and divine food. As Slade says - " I wish it could be Christmas every day " .

This restuarant is a gem - I am starting saving for next year now - I wont ever wash up again while this restaurant is in Newmarket.

Top marks.

(December 27, 2013)


Absolutely delicious


I have eaten here twice now, once with 3 people and the second time with 6 people. both occasions have been equally as good. the food is varied from a small menu and it is delivered to your table looking fabulous and the taste does not disappoint. every single one of the other people i have brought here have been really satisfied with their food. great little restaurant.

Peter N (February 19, 2014)


Local Secrets Review


Having won over diners taste buds at The White Pheasant in Fordham and then the Maids Head in Wicken, chef Stuart Trangmar's track record is safely proven and his new opening  in Newmarket town centre, looks set to go all the distance.
 
Trangmar converted the former Chinese restaurant into a modern British bistro, complete with light oak tables, cream and brown leather chairs, serving locally sourced food. Gloucester Old Spot pork, lamb, beef and all manner of poultry - duck, goose, chicken - as well as vegetables come from local suppliers within 15 miles. The result is classic bistro cooking with a signature modern touch.
 
We had to settle for lunch because the Friday and Saturday evenings were fully booked - a good sign for them. My starter of scallops and pork belly was superb - just the right balance of flavours, followed by a delicious luxury fish pie with caraway cabbage and spinach. Had it been the dinner menu I might have chosen the wild venison with honeyed baby beets and a port jus, or perhaps duck and Newmarket sausage cassoulet. My companion really enjoyed her exquisitely presented stone bass with celeriac puree, herb gnocchi on bed of wild chanterelle mushroom and spinach.
We chose to share a classic bavarois - suitably pink, the beautiful presentation included delightful tiny pink cubes of rhubarb marshmallow sprinkled from on high with a dramatic shard of rhubarb skin perfectly crisped- and our preferred finale, a cheesecake, packing a more powerful tangy oomph of rhubarb.
 
This restaurant offers much with a relaxed attitude and comfortable atmosphere. The only downside is the inauspicious setting in Newmarket's Guineas Shopping Centre, but that's on the outside.
 
Inside Emeline has sourced a wide range of tea, coffee, wines and soft drinks to bring all-occasion dining to Newmarket. It's an ideal place to share Sunday roast with friends, a family Saturday morning brunch, coffee after (or during) a hard day's shopping, or a special evening meal for two - all with a friendly welcome and excellent service.
 
 

Local Secrets (July 1, 2013)


Make a Reservation

  • A name is required
  • Please enter an emailInvalid email format.
  • A date is required.Invalid format.

pocket bistro

  1. 15 The Guineas Shopping Centre
    (the Rookery)
  2. Newmarket
  3. Suffolk
  4. CB8 8EQ
  5.  
  6. Email: chef@pocketbistro.co.uk
  7. Telephone 01638 674128
  1. Opening hours
  2. Monday closed
  3. Tuesday 10-2:30 / 6-9
  4. Wednesday 10-2:30 / 6-9
  5. & Thursday 10 -2:30 / 6-9
  6. Friday 10- 2:30 / 6 - 9:30
  7. & Saturday 10-9:30
  8. Sunday 11-3